Tourist Visa

East Africa Tourist Visa

Any foreign national who wants to travel to the Republics of Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda needs to have a tourist visa for tourism purposes.

For the Uganda East Africa visa, one can access it online using the link below and follow the prompts

Uganda online East African Visa Application

For the Kenya, one can access it online using the Kenya embassy’s website on the consular section.

As for Rwanda, this can be obtained through the Rwanda visa online application.

An East African Tourist Visa is a multiple entry visa and shall be valid for 90 days. Applications for this visa shall be lodged at any of the diplomatic representations of the Republic of Uganda, Republic of Kenya and Republic of Rwanda, and/or at the Immigration Offices of the respective countries or online where applicable.

One can apply for the visa either manually by going to the embassy in the country of residence or by applying for it online by submitting EATV FORM1.

All persons (travelers) must apply in their own right individually with acceptable travel documents valid not less than 6 months from the date of intended travel.

The holder of the East African Tourist Visa shall enter from the country that issued the visa and is free to travel to the other two countries without applying for another visa or paying any additional visa fees.

The holder of East African Tourist Visa shall also have the privilege of traveling to any of the three countries (Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda) and return without having to pay for another visa. The East African Tourist Visa is NOT a work visa and it shall NOT be extended.


  • One clear colored passport size photo with white background recently taken without glasses, caps and scurf; (the photo should be attached to the application form by use of glue stick. Stapling and clipping the photo to the application form is not advisable).
  • A complete filled application form.
  • Visa application letter addressed to the issuing authority of the concerned country.
  • Flight bookings
  • Proof of financial sustainability during the travel period.
  • Any other documentation that may be requested for purposes of processing the visa application.
Namanga ,Kenya boarder

New construction at Kenya and Tanzania’s One Stop Border Post in Namanga is making work easier for employees to process travelers paperwork.

Additional information

Dependents: there is no dependent on the visa; all persons must apply in their own right.

Visa Fees: the tourist visa comes at a cost of 100 USD or its equivalent.

Validity of Visa: it is valid for 90 days from the date of issue.

Work or No Work: Work is not permitted

Visa Extension: An East Africa Tourist Visa shall not be extended.

Multi-entry/ Single entry: The Visa is a single entry Visa; but it is multiple entry within the Partner states only. It elapses when one moves out of the Partner States.

Expatriates/Foreign residents

A special consideration has been given to expatriates (foreign residents) residing in Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda. They do not need a visa to visit any of the three countries. They can now obtain an Inter-State Pass which is valid for 6 months. They however need to present a valid resident/work permit.

East Africa Nationals

Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda residents use Identity Cards as travel documents within the region. This was put into effect on 1 January 2014. This enables citizens of one country to spend up to six months in the two other countries using only their National Identification (ID) cards. This also applies to students residing in these countries as well.


Kenyan, Rwanda and Ugandan students can use their Identification Cards (IDs) to travel to any of the three countries

 However, East African Visa does not apply in Tanzania. One needs a separate visa before entry is allowed in this country.

For online visa application for Tanzania use the link below

Apply for your visa online 3 months prior to arrival into Tanzania

Or you can purchase in advance through the Tanzanian embassy.

It can also be obtained upon the arrival at the Dar es Salaam international airport.